I’ll be the first to admit that I have WRESTLED with ALLLLLL the things that are going on in the United States (and frankly, the world) right now.

From the Corona-virus to the Black Lives Matter movement to the 2020 presidential election, my social media feed has been quite the hotspot for discussion on these matters, as I’m sure I’m not alone in this. There’s good, bad, and ugly, and it’s wise to consider it all and come to your own conclusion (one weighed against God’s Word), not one that the world tries to peer pressure you into. Even when you come to your own conclusion, there’s ugly mixed with the good and good mixed with the bad because, at the end of the day, we’re merely human, and it really is all overwhelming.

I know for me, in my wrestling, I’ve remained fairly silent on social media regarding these topics, though I have discussed matters at length with close, trusted friends, and of course, the Lord. And even what I have posted, I’ve weighed (and will continue to weigh) heavily before I put it out there.

More so now than I have ever experienced in my life, things can (and probably will) be misconstrued. To a certain extent, that’s okay because not everyone will take the time to understand where I’m coming from or may not be able to because they simply don’t know me well enough. All that to say, there can still be work going on in the heart and in the lives of those around you even though you don’t post about it.

Which brings me to why I’m writing on this cool, yet still toasty, Texas night: Times will only get worse, so Christians, we need to buckle up and buckle down.

Before I get into what the Lord spoke to me, you need some background knowledge: I have very much disliked and still struggle to fully agree with the face mask situation, not only that but also as an extreme extrovert, I have struggled immensely with social distancing.

Now, I hope you don’t judge me for the mask thing because even though I don’t fully agree, I have been wearing. Why don’t I fully agree? Ultimately, it’s because I’m scared. I’m scared that this will be the rest of life as we know it (in some form or another) and it’ll continue to be something we have to endure. COVID-19 is one virus right now in this moment; what if this happens again? What if another new virus comes along (because it will) and we continue to have to live like this? That being said, I’m wearing the dang mask. I know the arguments out there: it’s not so much as protecting yourself as it is protecting those around you. I get that, so I do it. I still don’t think that this can or should continue to be life, but I’ll do it as long as I have to.

With social distancing, my feelings are much the same. The questions parallel, just insert social distancing instead of face mask. However, with this, I have been much more affected. People often ask what your hobbies are, and my answer is literally “hanging out with people.” The more, the merrier is a phrase I embrace. I’ve still been able to get together with people during these past four months since Corona-virus lock down started, but there’s a level to it where I know I can’t go see just anyone and I can’t go just anywhere I please. There are limitations. And limitations for a free-spirit can leave me feeling trapped and boxed in if I’m not careful to watch my heart. Again, the same arguments for the face masks apply here- same argument for engaging in it and same argument for complying (for the most part). It still does not take away the sting when I think about meeting up with (insert person) and going (insert place) but I can’t because they’re quarantining or the place is closed for seating. Yet again, I have reluctantly surrendered.

BUT GOD spoke to my heart towards the end of a nap this afternoon and communicated to me to let the struggle go, to take my eyes off of these things. Life is about being faithful to Him and, Christians, times will only get harder.

As I felt my mind about to emerge into consciousness from this lovely slumber, God put these concerns about the face masks and social distancing (and all the other things happening right now) at the forefront of my mind. Almost simultaneously, He reminded me of a book I read by Corrie ten Boom, The Hiding Place, where it tells of Corrie and her sister’s time in the Nazi concentration camps, how they suffered but yet how they praised the Lord and shone His light in that great darkness. God emphasized to me that if I keep my mind so focused on my reluctance, it’s going to be hard to shine His light.

Shining His light is why I’m here: to love Him and make Him known. He said to me, “prepare your heart for this is not the end of these things. It doesn’t matter what you think about them, but you must do them, and you must not be afraid because you are needed in the battle, on the front lines. Do not be afraid; I was with Corrie, and I’ll be with you.”

And I awoke, feeling myself letting the wrestling disappear. I also knew I had to write. This is not a message just for me; it’s a message for all Christians. For you. God won’t ask you anything about your political stance when you stand before Him, but He will ask you what side you stood on in His fight.

I want to be clear that this post is not about Biblical prophecy (though it is definitely something one should study). However, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention Matthew 24: 3-31. I’ll only emphasize a couple verses because writing all of those would be too many to place in one post:

“You are going to hear of wars and rumors of wars. See that you are not alarmed, because these things must take place, but the end is not yet. For nation will rise up against nation, and kingdom against kingdom. There will be famines and earthquakes in various places. All these events are the beginning of birth pains ” (Matt. 24: 6-8).

Whether Jesus returns next week or four hundred years from now, the Bible tells us clearly the heart stance we Christians should take in our daily lives: total reliance on the Lord. As you can see, I am just as guilty as the next person in the struggle to do this 100% of the time, but the Lord is faithful to redirect the heart.

Even as I read over my previous blog post before beginning this one (boy, did the Lord know I would need the words from it!), the truth still stands that I don’t know what the future holds, but I know who holds the future. So whether it’s political turmoil, civil unrest, a virus knocking at your door, or your own internal battles, “do not worry about anything, but in everything, through prayer and petition with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:6-7).

Go in peace, friend.

Leave a comment