All over the Word of God, the emphasis for being in fellowship with others is seen. And in our hearts, we know this is something we need. Ever fallen down and needed someone to help you up? Ever been at the end of your bank account and needed to borrow some funds from a friend? Ever been so stressed and needed someone to just let it all out with? Yeah, me too- doing life with others is VITAL. Don’t be like the guy in the picture!

Quatro: Community

In my life, scripture births prayer which determines purpose which is encouraged by community. I must be rooted in Truth for my heart to ask for the right things from my Creator who has entrusted me with an overarching and specific reason for existence – and I can do NONE OF THAT without people in my life to walk with me when I cannot.

I could spend, I don’t even know how long, A LONG TIME telling you about all the fantastic people the Lord has put in my path for me to be in community with.

Whether it’s long phone conversations and snapchat streaks with my bestie Hayley DeBolt talking about the struggles of the teaching life and being a Christian in this modern age. Or super long texts and Marco Polos with my sweet Mallory Hairston, pouring over each other in prayer, discussing how to glorify God in every part of this journey of life and position our hearts to yearn for Him more. Or monthly coffee dates with Kayla Brown putting our lives out on the table and speaking Truth and encouragement into each other. Or spending time with Michelle Carter at her house, Half Price Books, or in each other’s classrooms breaking down what it means to be a Christian educator and pursuing the heart of Christ in our creative passions. Or people who inspire me with their persistent joy in Christ like Laretta Mensah, Vanessa Medrez, Jordan Herrington, Alex Hood, Julie Beanland, Casey Ochoa…

I really could go on! And I’m so humbled that I can because this life takes a village, especially in pursuit of Christ-likeness.

No one can live life alone.

We were not made for it! God Himself exists in community being of three persons as Genesis 1: 26 proves, “Then God said, ‘Let Us make make man in Our image, according to Our likeness.” God the Father, the Holy Spirit, and son Jesus Christ cannot be separated but are forever together in one as three. And we are created with that same desire. There is a hole inside of us that longs for more; I’ve heard it referred to as a God-shaped hole.

We long not just for community with others, but also with God. We cannot be complete without Him, and like it, God has made us to fellowship with other believers as it says in Hebrews 10: 24-25, “And let us be concerned about one another in order to promote love and good works, not staying away from our worship meetings, as some habitually do, but encouraging each other, and all the more as you see the day drawing near.”

Be aware that “…Your adversary the Devil is prowling around like a roaring lion, looking for anyone he can devour. Resist him and be firm in the faith, knowing that the same sufferings are being experienced by your fellow believers throughout the world” (1 Peter 5:8-9). Don’t try to go at this life by yourself because it won’t work out. When I’m at my wits end, I know I can go to any of the ladies above (and so many others not mentioned) for an anchoring back to the Truth. I would not be better off without them and so many others that have edged the path along my life. We need people to walk beside us and help carry the burden when we can’t carry it alone.

We NEED community.

So who in your life is your community- your village? Who walks beside you and lifts you up when your soul is being dragged down? Comment below and give them a shout-out!

And if you don’t have that community, reach out to people in your circle! I’m in your corner if you need to chat. See my ‘Connect’ tab for info on how to talk.

Leave a comment